A Donald for a Caesar

I don’t approve of having a republic as a form of government. That said, it’s certainly true that some republican systems are better than others. For example, the ancient Romans wisely had a practice whereby, in a situation of national crisis, a dictator would be appointed on a temporary basis. While the emergency continued, the dictator’s rule was absolute.

It should be clear at this point, that on January 6th, after the electoral votes were officially counted, Trump should have stated something to this effect:

“Much like us, the ancient Romans had a republic, and it was a wonderful republic, believe me. Now, in order to keep things on track, they would in times of serious national crisis appoint one man to be a temporary absolute ruler, whose word was law. Now, it’s apparent that draining the swamp will not be possible if I have to work within the current legal apparatus, therefore I will take my election as such a mandate. So, upon taking office, I will unilaterally promulgate any law, budget, or executive order that I deem necessary to Make America Great Again, and I will not allow for any judicial or other review.

Now, I’m not for true dictatorship of course, so I’ll allow a little bit of oversight in this: if Congress finds this unacceptable, either now or in the future, they can impeach me, and I’ll step down voluntarily. I’m even giving them two weeks fair warning, in case they want to preempt me entirely. Personally, given a choice between career suicide and an eight-year paid vacation, I’d take the latter, but it’s up to them.”

Standard

2 thoughts on “A Donald for a Caesar

  1. c matt says:

    Would have to have the armed forces behind him to back it up – doubt he has that. Anywho, when we rebuild, if we do decide to go “republic” again, at a minimum the franchise should be restricted to those who own residential property – make sure they have skin in the game. Universal 2 -year conscription (in exchange for first two years of college plus stipend) might not be a bad idea either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

